Describe your political platform

Welcome Candidates.
Would each of you please take a moment to detail your platforms and identify reasons why our voters should elect you?

The Honorable Mayor Fargo

About 2014 Honorary Mayor of Eastsound Campaign Moderator

A Boston Terrier, Fargo was elected in 2013 by receiving 30 percent of the votes and by beating out a full slate of canines. He has opted not to seek re-election and has agreed to moderate discussions in this forum. Fargo is loyal supporter of Children's House. The Honorary Mayor of Eastsound race is an annual fundraising event sponsored by and benefiting Orcas Island Children's House, a nonprofit childhood early learning center serving families for more than 40 years. Your voting dollars direction benefit the Toddlers and Preschoolers of OICH.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Describe your political platform

  1. Phoebe4Mayor says:

    Hi, my name is Phoebe, I am a mix of breeds, but mostly Lhasa Apso, and I am asking for your votes to elect me Honorary Mayor of Eastsound. I am a Children’s House dog and regularly visit with the kids at school! Jinger, a candidate last year and also a Children’s House dog, endorses me! Jinger is getting up in years and mostly just wants to go to school for treats and to sleep in a sunbeam but when I am at school it’s all about playing with the kids and they love having me there! I am young and full of energy and get along well with both humans and other animals. I know first hand how important kid friendly dogs are on Orcas. If you elect me Mayor I will continue to meet and greet new children at school and in town!
    — Phoebe4Mayor

  2. Jack, The Blind Visionary says:

    LEAD, TRUST and LOVE
    I lost my ability to see over a year ago but it has not diminished my vision for Eastsound. As a result of my blindness I am dedicated to perseverance and patience- acceptance of situations without allowing them to dictate limitations. I strive to be a leader or a heeler but not a follower. What you call a leash I perceive as a safety line linking me to those I cherish. I have come to know how important it is to trust those you love because they always have your best interest at heart, and I think that this is a good lesson to pass on to all humans as well as other dogs, cats, birds, rabbits, and critters who live with people.
    BE AWARE OF THE WORLD WE LIVE IN
    I would encourage all of my constituents to take time to “stop and smell the roses”. I have been doing this all of my life, of course, but since I lost my sight, I find that it is even more rewarding to pause and take a few good whiffs of not only flowers, but whatever other good odors have been left behind by my fellow canines and friendly humans. Listening carefully is also crucial for all of us in order for us to truly appreciate the world around us, as well as helping us to be aware of what it is that our friends and family need from us. For children and pets, good listening is particularly important because being aware of the sounds around you keeps you safe! For instance, if you hear a car coming, you know to get to the side of the road so you don’t get run over!
    — Jack

  3. Morgan says:

    First off, I’m for the people and the animals, for the bugs and the plants. As a Bugg (Boston-Terrier and Pug), I am, by nature, a lover (a love-Bugg if you will). I love puppies, kitties, people and all other creatures. I’m honest, loyal and dedicated to this island. I have grown up on this island – so has most of my family (two siblings and my mom are still here year-round, too!). I’m dedicated to keeping this beautiful island green and poop-on-the-sidewalks-free. I believe our children are a priority, too. They need fun pets to play with and keep them safe. Every child deserves the right to a fun and educational environment, which is why I strongly support and believe in what Children’s House does.
    — Morgan

  4. Missy says:

    My name is Missy and I’m a Pomeranian. My owners, Harold and Debbie Hurne adopted me from the Orcas Animal Protection Society four years ago. My past life of living on the streets of Kirkland as a stray pup has taught me to fend for myself and also to trust others when they offered to help rescue me. I love children and adults as well as all sizes and types of dogs and other animals. I feel Orcas island is the most beautiful place that I could ever have had the privilege to live on and I will work towards keeping our beautiful, green Island a SAFE place for all. — Missy

  5. Luna4Mayor says:

    I was born and raised on Orcas Island, so I know the issues we as pets face here on Orcas. I believe in equality for everyone: felines, canines, pocket pets, birds and fish. We need to stand together to make our sense of community even stronger. If elected mayor, my door will always be open to listen to your concerns. Let’s have lunch; I hear squirrel tastes good.

Leave a Reply

